The fifth conference “Interdisciplinary Approaches in Fish Skeletal Biology”   Tavira, Portugal, April 16-19, 20218. We thank all participants for their contributions to the conference! We hope  to see you again in 2021

The sixth conference “Interdisciplinary Approaches in Fish Skeletal Biology”   will be held  in April 2021.

IAFSB Conferences: Great Science at a Beautiful Location
IAFSB conferences promote the dialogue between experts from different disciplines that have a common interest in fish skeletal research and comparative skeletal biology. Participants come from disciplines such as Evolution and Development, Developmental Genomics and Proteomics, Biomedical Sciences and Regenerative Medicine, Ichthyology and Systematics, Functional Anatomy and Biomechanics, Aquaculture and Nutrition, and others.

Key Note Speaker 2018: Gloria Arratia (University of Kansas)
The vertebral column of actinopterygians, its evolutionary transformations and phylogenetic meaning

The emphasis of the conference is to facilitate discussions, to exchange ideas and concepts. The location of the conference is ideal for this purpose. A historic fishing village turned into a hotel where we can accommodate about 100 participants.  IAFSB on Facebook

P. Eckhard Witten,  Matthew P. Harris, and M. Leonor Cancela

Scientific Committee
Brian K. Hall, Per Gunnar Fjelldal, Marc Muller, Ann Huysseune, Santosh P. Lall, Stefan Schulte-Merker, Christoph Winkler, Clara Boglione, Gert Flik,

Organizing Committee
Vincent Laizé, Paulo Gavaia, Natércia Conceição, Ignacio Fernández, Evi Desender, Joana Teixeira Rosa